Ginger Beer – Dark & Stormies and Moscow Mules

Standard

Today I am making homemade ginger beer. I have synthesized various recipes to come up with the one I hope will work best. As I am not a beer or wine maker I am improvising bigtime with leftover green plastic 2-liter soda bottles, my best effort at making ginger juice from fresh ginger, and trying like mad to prepare fresh lemon juice without leaving any bits and pieces (pulp) in the mix. Cane loves a good Dark & Stormy and my sister loves a traditional Moscow Mule (in a copper cup). I look forward to the taste test and posting photos if they turn out well. If it is a disaster OR I explode the bottles in the kitchen I will let you know that as well.

Dark & Stormy

  • 1/4 lime
  • 2 ounces dark rum
  • 10 ounces of ginger beer
  • Lime wedge, for garnish, optional

Fill a 12-ounce glass with ice. Squeeze the lime wedge over the ice in the glass. Drop the wedge into the glass. Pour the rum into the glass. Add the ginger beer. Stir lightly and garnish with another lime wedge, if desired.

Moscow Mule

  • 1 ounce vodka
  • 1 tsp. sugar syrup
  • Fresh lime juice
  • 1/2 cup ginger beer
  • 1 sprig fresh mint
  • 1 slice of lime
In a copper mug, pour vodka over ice. Add sugar syrup and lime juice. Top with ginger beer and stir. Garnish with mint sprig and lime slice.
