Squash Blossoms!

Standard

meliovore

Imagine my delight when I saw these beauties at the Farmer’s Market last weekend. Squash blossoms are something of a delicacy in that their window of availability is very short – a few weeks in June or July, depending on the region. I snapped up a couple of bunches, excited to take them home and fry them, in the style of the Italians, a la fritto misto.

I’d like to tell you how much I enjoyed them when I was in Rome, at one of the many beautiful little outdoor restaurant tables that could be found in many a cobbled courtyard, serving incredible food in the warm afternoon sun.  The truth is, though, that we got there too late. It was June when my sister and I visited there and I would keep seeing notes about squash blossom specials on the menu. Eventually I had to ask about it. The…

View original post 342 more words

